Yas Marina Circuit plays host to Round 3 of Porsche Sprint Challenge Middle East Season 11

International grid of drivers return for Round 3

 The Porsche Sprint Challenge Middle East returns this weekend to Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, for Round 3 of its eleventh instalment.  Taking place at the region’s most iconic track, 15 drivers from 10 different nations will take to the grid for three races across Friday and Saturday.

The race weekend gets underway with qualifying at 11.20hrs on Friday morning, with Race 1 scheduled at 16.25hrs on the same day. The second qualifying session kicks off at 09.00hrs on Saturday morning followed by Race 2 at 11.35hrs and Race 3 at 14.40hrs. Entry is free to all.

Heading into the halfway point of the season, Germany’s Leon Koehler (146pts) has a lead of 27 points in the overall standings, with Saul Hack in second (119 points) and Julian Hanses (115pts) in third. JB Simmenauer sits in fourth (105pts), with Richard Wagner in fifth (103pts) and Jesse Van Kuijk in sixth (96pts)

Following this weekend, the series returns for Rounds 4 and 5 at the Bahrain International Circuit in March. The season will conclude as an official support race to the 2020 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, the only regional racing series to do so.

The Porsche Sprint Challenge Middle East is now in its historic eleventh season, making it the first and longest regional championship backed by a manufacturer in the Middle East. It gives drivers access to the latest Porsche 911 GT3 Cup race car, the same model used for international motorsport editions, such as the Porsche Carrera Cup and the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup.

Official driver standings after 6 of 14 races

  Name Country Category Points
1st Leon Kohler GER Pro 146
2nd Saul Hack RSA Pro 119
3rd Julian Hanses GER Pro 115
4th JB Simmenauer FRA Pro 105
5th Richard Wagner GER Pro 103
6th Jesse Van Kuijk NED ProAm 96


Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East 2019/20 Calendar

Dates Round/ Circuit Number of Races
13th-14thDec, 2019 Round 1: Bahrain Int. Circuit, Bahrain 3
24th-25thJan, 2020 Round 2: Dubai Autodrome, Dubai 3
31stJan-1stFeb, 2020 Round 3: Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.